Model assessment · Dolphin / Maytronics

Dolphin S2000 review

A corded cleaner rated for pools up to 40 ft, with listed floor, wall, waterline and step/sun-ledge coverage, MyDolphin Plus, selectable cycles and an additional in-box Ultra-Fine Filter Kit.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Exact U.S. page-linked Maytronics image of the Dolphin S2000 body; the S2000 marking is visible, and the crop does not show a cable.
Official Maytronics image · Dolphin S2000 model-marked body. Maytronics
A useful fit for

A corded U.S. configuration with a 40-ft maximum pool-length rating, listed floor/wall/waterline coverage, MyDolphin Plus and an additional in-box Ultra-Fine Filter Kit.

The main tradeoff

The listed steps and sun ledge have no depth threshold; cable reach, finish fit, caddy inclusion and exact-SKU manual instructions are not established, and the portal-selected PDF is internally titled Classic 19.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does its 40-ft limit confirm that it can reach my pool from the outlet?

No. The 40-ft figure is the manufacturer's maximum pool-length rating, not cable length or outlet-to-water reach. The U.S. page does not state cord length or power-supply placement; measure the route and verify the exact model documentation before installation.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is app support documented for this exact configuration?

Maytronics lists MyDolphin Plus as the mobile application and advertises app-enabled control for the exact U.S. S2000. The product page does not give a command list; its portal-selected English PDF is internally titled Classic 19, so detailed app setup remains unconfirmed for Product No. 99996291-US.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the exact U.S. listing include an Ultra-Fine kit?

Yes. The exact product table lists an additional Ultra-Fine Filter Kit in the box, separate from the main Combine Filter Kit. It gives no micron grade or exact supplied-part count; check the retailer's exact carton contents.

Explore this need in the finder →

This is a source-based assessment of the U.S. Dolphin S2000, Product No. 99996291-US, not a hands-on test. It is a distinct listing from the Dolphin S200, Product No. 99996202-USW, and from the similarly numbered Dolphin PREMIUM 2000, Product No. 99996291-PR2. The exact model number matters: those are different product records, not interchangeable names or proof of shared parts.

A 40-foot pool rating with a broad surface list

Maytronics lists the S2000 for pools up to 40 feet and names floor, walls, waterline, steps and a sun ledge. The same U.S. page classifies it for in-ground and above-ground pools and lists rectangular, round, free-form and kidney shapes. These are useful screening fields, not a guarantee that every slope, transition, finish, obstruction or irregular cable route will be handled. In particular, the page gives no minimum step or ledge depth. Its steps wording should not be treated as evidence that a shallow ledge at a particular depth is supported.

The 40-foot number is a maximum pool-length rating, not a measurement of the blue lead or of the distance from an outlet to every point in the pool. Maytronics does not state the S2000's cable length on this page. A pool can be under the rated length yet still have a cable route, power-supply position or geometry that deserves a separate check. Measure the actual route and consult documentation that matches Product No. 99996291-US before relying on installation limits.

Cycle and app fields answer different questions

The product table lists a 2.5-hour default cycle, with 2-, 2.5- and 3-hour durations, plus a delay feature and weekly timer. It names MyDolphin Plus as the mobile application and the product description advertises app-enabled control. That is enough to treat documented app support as a real feature of this exact U.S. listing; it is not evidence of live underwater steering or of a particular command list.

There is an important documentation caveat. The exact U.S. product page links to Maytronics' manual portal using 99996291-US, and the portal page is headed Dolphin S2000. Its English download, however, identifies itself internally as “Classic 19” and does not repeat the S2000 retail number in its running title. I record the portal linkage, but do not treat every setup, depth, water-chemistry, app-connection or maintenance instruction in that PDF as independently verified for this retail configuration. If a safety or compatibility detail matters, match the manual to the cleaner and the included power supply before use. The product page's separate “Remote Control: No” field also cautions against reading app support as an included handheld remote.

What is documented about filtration and cleaning hardware

The exact page names a main “Combine Filter Kit” and separately lists an additional Ultra-Fine Filter Kit in the box. That makes the S2000 relevant when an extra kit is a firm requirement. The listing does not provide a micron grade, an exact kit part number or a panel count, so “Ultra-Fine” should not be translated into a particle-size promise. Confirm the model number and supplied contents in the seller's carton, especially if the offer is refurbished, bundled or open-box.

Maytronics lists top-access filter removal, no full-filter indicator, two brushes, an active brush, standard and combine brush types, and a 4,000-gallon-per-hour suction-rate figure. These are manufacturer specifications and labels, not independent measurements or a substitute for a cleaning test. A top-access basket may be convenient for routine removal, while the lack of a full-filter indicator means the page does not promise an alert when debris has accumulated. The product page's “suction rate” should be read as a listed figure, not as proof of pickup performance in a particular pool.

Separate the body dimensions from the pool fit

The page lists the robot at 17.927 pounds and gives dimensions of 17.433 by 15.839 by 11.638 inches; the listed package is 22.1 by 17.7 by 12.4 inches. Those figures help with storage and lifting estimates, but they do not establish how heavy the unit feels when wet or whether it is easy for a particular owner to retrieve. The comparison table names a caddy only in the S400 column; the S2000 cell is blank, so I do not count a caddy or stand as included. Ask the seller for the exact carton list if a carrier is important.

Where the S2000 may fit—and where it does not

The S2000 is a plausible shortlist candidate for someone who wants a corded cleaner, a documented 40-foot pool maximum, floor/wall/waterline coverage, named app support and an additional Ultra-Fine kit listed in the box. A request above 40 feet is outside its listed ceiling. A step or sun-ledge requirement at a specified depth remains unresolved because no minimum depth is given. Cable reach, pool finish compatibility, included caddy status and the exact manual instructions are also not established by the product page.

Its comparison table places the separate S200 at a 50-foot maximum with floor/wall/waterline coverage, while the S2000 has a 40-foot maximum and additionally lists steps and a sun ledge, selectable cycles, MyDolphin Plus and an extra Ultra-Fine kit. This is a difference between the named configurations, not evidence that one product is a replacement for the other. Check the exact product number, seller package, pool surface, actual cable route and matching manual before choosing. The evidence supports a narrow, practical decision: the S2000 brings documented app and filter-kit features to a 40-foot corded arrangement, while leaving several fit and setup questions for the exact offer to answer.

Maytronics' U.S. Dolphin S2000 product page · Exact-product-number manual portal (whose selected English PDF is internally titled Classic 19).

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Power sourceCorded / plug-in
Manufacturer-stated pool length limit40 ft
Documented coverage capabilityPool floor / Pool walls / Submerged waterline / Pool steps
Pool construction types listedIn-ground pool / Above-ground pool
Manufacturer filter labelCombination filter kit
Filter accessTop access
Ultra-fine filter kit listed in boxYes
AppMyDolphin Plus
Default cycle shown2.5 hours
Robot weight shown17.93 lb
Warranty shown on manufacturer page2 years

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Use the finder as a starting point

Choose your pool type, required cleaning areas, power routine and filter needs, then check each exact model's limits and instructions.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →